Return to Borrego Springs – Summer 2019

borrego 4
Summer Milky Way over the Borrego Valley (16 mm, f/2.8, ISO 3200, 20 s exposure)

Borrego Springs, CA, a town nestled in the middle of massive Anza-Borrego Desert State Park in remote Northeast San Diego County, is quickly becoming my favorite getaway and retreat from just about every semblance of life back in L.A.  It’s a special (and bit funky) place where desert resort oasis meets the outback, and the protected (and locally treasured) dark skies reveal a brilliant starscape, just steps from the amenities of home.  That last bit drew me out for my first stay, “glamping” in a vintage Airstream at the Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort – it did not disappoint!  While waiting return of the fall and spring star parties to the Mojave National Preserve, I planned a second trip for early May, but needed to cancel last minute.  Between compatible moon phases/rises and intense summer temperatures, I wasn’t sure I could manage another go at it, but alas hectic life and my attachment to the desert beckoned me back late June.  I actually don’t mind extreme heat compared to cold (I kind of expect it here), and the 100+ highs keep Borrego Springs particularly uncrowded and extra laid back (wildflower season and super-blooms are a whole different story I imagine!)  The summer night and Milky Way was the real prize, though, and despite an unusual cloudy forecast, the sky opened up for several hours and gave me front row seating to the universe and God’s handiwork, just a hop from my hotel room at Palm Canyon (no Airstreams available this season!)  It’s awesomeness that never grows old…

borrego 5
Metal Sky Art Bighorn Sheep (“Borrego” in Spanish)

The next day actually brought considerable cloudiness, humidity, and spouts of rain – imagine that!  I discovered the Anza-Borrego Desert Natural History Association‘s wonderful Desert Nature Center and store, and chatted with a friendly staff member about their stargazing location tips (this great organization is behind much of Borrego’s dark sky preservation efforts).  Then I cruised north to check out just some of the many metal Sky Art sculptures decorating the valley in most unusual fashion, while listening to the funky-cool sounds of Swing Out Sister on my stereo (a latest retro discovery and fave of mine).  It was all quite fitting somehow, and a couple of adventures I missed last visit.  I look forward to discoveries to come, and of course returning to familiar treasures!

borrego 6
Cloudy days can give way to extra beautiful sunsets!  (at Palm Canyon Resort)

4 thoughts on “Return to Borrego Springs – Summer 2019”

    1. Thanks! Borrego is a stargazer’s paradise, and an ultimate unplug for me, though it’s amazing the extra color and detail a still-camera can pick up! Our eyes seem to capture better “video” at night, but it’s certainly cool to witness our galaxy in person.

      Like

Leave a comment